Library & Knowledge Services


University Hospitals of Derby and Burton NHS Foundation Trust (UHDB) was formed on 1 July 2018 to bring together our 5 hospitals – in Derby, Burton, Lichfield and Tamworth.

Our aim is to deliver outstanding care for local people in Southern Derbyshire and South-East Staffordshire through the expertise of our 12,000 staff.

Who we are

Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (DTHFT) and Burton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (BHFT) have merged to become a new organisation – University Hospitals of Derby and Burton NHS Foundation Trust.

  • DTHFT provided care for around 600,000 people around Southern Derbyshire over two sites – the Royal Derby Hospital and the Florence Nightingale Community Hospital – with over 8,500 staff.
  • BHFT provided services for around 360,000 people in Burton Upon Trent and South Staffordshire. As well as Queen’s Hospital in Burton, it ran the Sir Robert Peel Hospital in Tamworth and the Samuel Johnson Hospital in Lichfield with over 3,000 staff in total.